



# MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE SASKATCHEWAN RIVERS PUBLIC SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 119 HELD IN THE BOARD ROOM, EDUCATION CENTRE, 545 - $11^{TH}$ STREET EAST, ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 2, 2015 AT 5:00 P.M.

#### PRESENT:

#### MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

MR. G. GUSTAFSON, Trustee MR. B. HOLLICK, Trustee MR. A. LINDBERG, Trustee MR. G. MCHENRY, Trustee MR. J. MCIVOR, Trustee MS. D. ROWDEN, Trustee
MS. J. SMITH-WINDSOR, Trustee
MR. W. STEEN, Trustee
MR. R. THOMSON, Trustee
MRS. J. WICINSKI-DUNN, Trustee

#### **SENIOR ADMINISTRATION**

Mr. R. Bratvold, Director of Education; Mr. R. Clarke, Superintendent of Schools; Mr. R. Emmerson, Superintendent of Schools; Mr. N. Finch, Superintendent of Schools; Dr. D. Lloyd, Chief Financial Officer; Mr. A. Nunn, Superintendent of Schools; Mr. J. Schultz, Superintendent of Schools; Mrs. J. Ward, Administrative Services Officer

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

R. Bratvold, Director of Education, called the meeting to order.

#### **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA:**

(Motion #15R-106)

Moved by J. Wicinski-Dunn that the agenda be approved as presented. Carried.

#### **ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR:**

- R. Bratvold called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Education.
- J. McIvor nominated B. Hollick as Board Chair for the ensuing year.

### (Motion #15R-107)

Moved by A. Lindberg that nominations close. Carried.

B. Hollick was declared elected as Board Chair, by acclamation, for the ensuing year.

#### **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR:**

B. Hollick called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Education.

W. Steen nominated J. Smith-Windsor as Vice-Chair for the ensuing year.

## (Motion #15R-108)

Moved by G. Gustafson that nominations close. Carried.

J. Smith-Windsor was declared elected as Vice-Chair, by acclamation, for the ensuing year.

#### APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIR:

The appointment of Deputy Chair was set at the October 30, 2012 meeting.

### APPOINTMENTS FOR THE SCHOOL DIVISION:

#### (a) Auditor

(Motion #15R-109)

Moved by J. McIvor that the firm of Deloitte LLP be the appointed auditors for the school division for the year 2016.

Carried.

# (b) Agent of Record (Insurance agent or broker):

(Motion #15R-110)

Moved by G. McHenry that the Agent of Record for the school division for the 2016 year be Marsh Canada Limited.

Carried.

#### (c) Solicitor:

(Motion #15R-111)

Moved by W. Steen that Barry Wilcox of the firm of Novus Law Group be the solicitor for the school division for the 2016 year.

Carried.

#### **ESTABLISH THE FOLLOWING:**

### (a) Regular meeting date, hour and place:

(Motion #15R-112)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the Regular meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division be held, subject to change, the first and third Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m., with the Closed Session at 4:00 p.m., in the Board Room, Education Centre,  $545-11^{th}$  Street East, and that the Board Chair and Director be authorized to cancel a Regular meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting.

Carried.

## (c) Approval of accounts:

(Motion #15R-113)

Moved by W. Steen that the Chief Financial Officer be authorized for the 2016 year, in accordance with Section 105(B) of <u>The Education Act, 1995</u>, to certify all accounts for payment. Carried.

## (d) Signing officers:

(Motion #15R-114)

Moved by G. Gustafson that the Board Chair and the Chief Financial Officer be the signing officers for the school division, with the Vice-Chair to sign in the absence of the Board Chair and the Manager of Financial Services to sign in the absence of the Chief Financial Officer.

Carried.

Page 3 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 2, 2015) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division

# (e) Amount of temporary credit with a financial institution in Prince Albert:

(Motion #15R-115)

Moved by J. Wicinski-Dunn that the school division establish with Concentra Financial a credit limit of five million dollars for the 2016 year.

Carried.

## (f) Hours of Public Access to All Central Offices:

(Motion #15R-116)

Moved by A. Lindberg that public access to the Education Centre/Support Services Centre during regular hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and during summer hours be from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Monday to Friday except for statutory holidays.

Carried.

## (g) <u>Taxable portion of indemnity to be paid trustees during the year:</u>

(Motion #15R-117)

Moved by J. McIvor that for the 2016 year, 2/3 of the trustee indemnity be shown as income and the other 1/3 be declared as non-taxable in lieu of general expenses and so shown on the T-4 slips.

Carried.

## (h) <u>Indemnity, honorarium and expenses to be paid to trustees:</u>

(Motion #15R-118)

Moved by G. Gustafson that Trustee Remuneration Guidelines be approved as amended for the 2015-2016 year.

Carried.

## **EXTERNAL BOARD APPOINTMENTS:**

## (a) Employee Bargaining Committees:

Out of Scope Bargaining Committee (Board Chair and Vice-Chair):

Barry Hollick Jamie Smith-Windsor

LINC Bargaining Committee:

George McHenry

• CUPE Bargaining Committee:

Jaimie Smith-Windsor

# (b) Operational Committees:

• Student Discipline Committee:

Grant Gustafson Arne Lindberg Jeanette Wicinski-Dunn Wayne Steen

• Principal Selection Committee:

John McIvor

#### (c) Committees with Third Parties:

• Saskatchewan High School Athletic Association: Darlene Rowden

Public Section Executive Member Wayne Steen

Page 4 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 2, 2015) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division

(d) <u>School Community Council Clusters:</u>

Cluster 1:

- St. Louis Public School **Darlene Rowden** 

Westview Public School

- West Central Public School <u>Alternate:</u> Wayne Steen

Cluster 2:

- Canwood Public School Rodney Thomson

Prince Albert Collegiate Institute (PACI)

- Spruce Home Public School Alternate: Jaimie Smith-Windsor

Cluster 3:

Arthur Pechey Public School Barry Hollick

Carlton Comprehensive Public High School

John Diefenbaker Public School <u>Alternate:</u> George McHenry

Cluster 4:

- East Central Public School *Grant Gustafson* 

Riverside Public School

- W.J. Berezowsky Public School <u>Alternate:</u> Arne Lindberg

Cluster 5:

- Christopher Lake Public School Jaimie Smith-Windsor

Meath Park Public School

- Queen Mary Public School <u>Alternate:</u> Grant Gustafson

Cluster 6:

Big River Public High School Jeanette Wicinski-Dunn

Debden Public School

- T.D. Michel Public School <u>Alternate:</u> John McIvor

Cluster 7:

- Birch Hills Public School Wayne Steen

- King George Public School

- Kinistino Public School <u>Alternate:</u> Darlene Rowden

**Cluster 8:** 

- Osborne Public School Arne Lindberg

Princess Margaret Public School

- Wesmor Public High School <u>Alternate:</u> Rodney Thomson

Page 5 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 3, 2014) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division

<u>Clus</u>	<u>ster 9</u> :		
-	École Vickers Public School		George McHenry
-	Vincent Massey Public School		
-	Red Wing Public School	<u>Alternate</u> :	Barry Hollick
<u>Clus</u>	ter 10:		
-	Wild Rose Public School		John McIvor
-	Shellbrook Public School		
-	W.P. Sandin Public High School	<u>Alternate</u> :	Jeanette Wicinski-Dunn
(Motion #1	5R-119)		
	Moved by G. McHenry that the ap for 2015-2016 be ratified. Carried.	opointments to the resp	pective Boards and Committees
ADJOURNN (Motion #1 <i>Mo</i> t Cari	5R-120) ved by J. Wicinski-Dunn that the mee	ting be adjourned.	
SIGNATURI	ES:		
Barry Hollic	k		
Board Chair		Administrative Services Officer	
November	23, 2015		
Date of App	proval		